Governor's Property Tax Task Force



On January 11, 2024, Governor Gianforte signed Executive Order No. 1-2024 creating the Governor's Property Tax Task Force. The Governor charged the task force with providing recommendations to reform the property tax system and reduce the burden of property taxes on taxpayers. The bipartisan task force will meet regularly and provide recommendations in a written report to the Governor in August 2024. Recommendations will focus on measures the Legislature can consider and the Governor can sign into law.

For current meeting information, links, and materials, visit the Meeting Calendar and Materials accordion below.


Type Date Time Location Materials
Property Tax Task Force Monday, March 18, 2024 1:00 pm

Join via Zoom
Webinar ID: 879 7579 0075
Passcode: 943279
Telephone: (206) 337-9723

Local Goverment Subcommittee Tuesday, March 5, 2024 1:00 pm

Join via Zoom
Webinar ID: 810 5038 8817
Passcode: 692620
Telephone: (206) 337 9723

Tax Fairness/Equity Subcommittee Monday, March 4, 2024 9:00 am

Join via Zoom
Webinar ID: 841 2722 1093
Passcode: 936318
Telephone: (206) 337-9723

Education Subcommittee Wednesday, February 28, 2024 1:00 pm

Join via Zoom
Webinar ID: 824 0551 8537
Passcode: 067692
Telephone: (206) 337-9723

Property Tax Task Force Wednesday, February 14, 2024 10:00 AM

State Capitol Building, 
Governor's Reception Room, Floor 2

or Join via Zoom
Webinar ID: 860 0857 6726
Passcode: 943279
Telephone: (206) 337-9723

Name Affiliation
Ryan Osmundson Director of Office of Budget and Program Planning and task force chair
Hon. Greg Hertz State Senator (R, Polson)
Hon. Tom McGillvray  State Senator (R, Billings)
Hon. Shane Morigeau State Senator (D, Missoula)
Hon. David Bedey State Representative (R, Hamilton)
Hon. Dave Fern State Representative (D, Whitefish)
Hon. Llew Jones State Representative (R, Conrad)
Brendan Beatty Director, Department of Revenue
Manish Bhatt Senior Policy Analyst, Center for State Tax Policy at the Tax Foundation
Kendall Cotton President and CEO, Frontier Institute
Errol Galt Commissioner, Meagher County
Pam Holmquist Commissioner, Flathead County
Jeremy Horpedahl, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Economics and Director of Arkansas Center for Research in Economics, University of Central Arkansas
Dwaine Iverson Board Member, Montana Taxpayers Association; CPA
Cyndi Johnson President, Montana Farm Bureau Federation
Sean Logan Commissioner, City of Helena
Lance Melton Executive Director, Montana School Boards Association
Gordon Oelkers Commissioner, Roosevelt County
Todd O'Hair President and CEO, Montana Chamber of Commerce
Justn Ross, Ph.D. Professor of Economics and Public Finance, Paul H. O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University; co-editor-in-chief of Public Budgeting & Finance
DJ Smith President, Montana Association of Realtors
Sandra Vasecka Council Member, City of Missoula
Ronda Wiggers Montana State Director, National Federation of Independent Business

Governor's Property Tax Task Force Meeting Recordings

February 14, 2024

Subcommittee Meeting Recordings

February 28, 2024 - Education Subcommittee Part 1

February 28, 2024 - Education Subcommittee Part 2